Ulster University

The New University of Ulster (NUU) incorporated Magee College founded in 1865 in Derry. Magee College was a college of the Royal University of Ireland from 1880 and later became associated with the University of Dublin (better known as Trinity College) when the Royal University was dissolved in 1908 and replaced by the National University of Ireland. In 1953 Magee College broke its links with Dublin and became Magee University College.

It was hoped by groups led by the University for Londonderry Committee that this university college would become Northern Ireland's second university after The Queen's University of Belfast. However, this did not happen and instead it was subsumed into the New University, primarily as a result of the unwillingness of the Unionist government at Stormont to have the second university sited in overwhelmingly nationalist Derry, in which "The Troubles" were just beginning to break out. The decision caused an outcry at the time.

Name In English Type Foundation Year
Ulster University Public Research University 2014

Academic Requirement for admission
Bachelors Programs
  • Intermediate/ 12 Year High School/ O/ A Level with 70% marks
  • IELTS minimum 6.0 overall with minimum of 5.5
Master Programs
  • 4-years bachelors (Hons) degree / 16 years education with 70%
  • IELTS minimum 6.0 overall with minimum of 6.0


  • Arts Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Life and Health Sciences
  • Ulster University Business School

Tuition Fee
Bachelors Programs GBP £ 11,500 / Year Approx.
Master Programs GBP £ 12,500 / Year Approx.

Ulster University:

  • Wide range of scholarships available including merit-based scholarship Up to 2000 GBP
  • Placement Year available