Greenwich University

The University of Greenwich is a public and research-oriented university located in London, in the United Kingdom. It has three campuses in London and Kent, England. These are located at Greenwich, in the grounds of the Old Royal Naval College, and in Avery Hill and Medway Previous names include Woolwich Polytechnic and Thames Polytechnic.

The university's range of subjects includes architecture, business, computing, mathematics, education, engineering, humanities, maritime studies, natural sciences, pharmacy and social sciences

The university dates back to November 1891, when Woolwich Polytechnic, the second-oldest polytechnic in the United Kingdom, opened in Woolwich. In 1970, Woolwich Polytechnic merged with part of Hammersmith College of Art and Building to form Thames Polytechnic. In the following years, Dartford College (1976), Avery Hill College (1985), Garnett College (1987) and parts of Goldsmiths College and the City of London College (1988) were incorporated.

In 1992, Thames Polytechnic was granted university status by the Major government (together with various other polytechnics) and renamed University of Greenwich in 1993. In 2001, the university gave up its historic main campus in the Bathway Quarter in Woolwich, relocating to its current main campus in Greenwich.

Name In English Type Foundation Year
Greenwich University Public 1992

Academic Requirement for admission
Bachelors Programs
  • Intermediate/ 12 Year High School/ O/ A Level with 70%
  • IELTS minimum 6.0 overall with minimum of 5.5
Master Programs
  • 4-years bachelors (Hons) degree / 16 years education with 70%
  • IELTS minimum 6.0 overall with minimum of 6.0


  • Faculty of Arts, Design and Media
  • Faculty of Business, Law and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Health, Education and Life Sciences
  • Faculty of Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment

Tuition Fee
Bachelors Programs GBP £ 13,500 / Year Approx.
Master Programs GBP £ 14,500 / Year Approx.

Greenwich University:

  • Wide range of scholarships available including merit-based scholarship Up to 1000 GBP